Toasty Knits


EEEEEE!!! STRESS!!!
October 7, 2007, 7:09 pm
Filed under: FOs, Future Projects, New Project

 Just finished a marathon of homework. second time this week that I’ve had to do over 6 hours of it in one day. Can’t whine to much about this one though, since I didn’t finish much HW Saturday because JoAnns was having their Columbus day sale YAY! I picked up fabric for two jackets. I am determined to become a better seamstress, right now I can’t make much beyond skirts. But more on those later.

Miss Bennet est fini! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out too, maybe not my favorite but it will definatly get some wear. In fact I’ve already worn it to school (it has been done for about a week now.) I’m really please with my seaming job, which is generally horrid.

Pattern: Mrs Darcy from Ramblings of a Knitting Obsessive

Yarn: Rowan Felted Tweed in Pine  (6 balls)

Size: 38in bust

Mods: Changed size (original includes only one) and gauge from heavy worsted to dk.

I still have 4 balls left, I thought I was going to need 9! Not that I’m complaining since it is a favorite of mine.

On to new stuff: no new yarn, but I do have new books. Classic Knits by Erika Knight and KnitKnit. Right now I’m working on the shrug from Classic Knits with the Kid Classic. What happened to Bridges you say? Well, I remembered several things about my own knitting habits A: I like mindless knitting B: I’m already stressed enough without having knitting issues C: Most of my knitting gets done while reading textbooks for school nd finally D: I like mindless knitting. Besides I do love me a good shrug and it will get alot more wear this way. Oh and I love this yarn, tis wonderfully plushy and soft and I kind of just want to cocoon up in it.

KnitKnit is one of the funner books I’ve bought in a while, even if I never knit anything from it. I love the really out-there instalations like the giant knitted fiberglass teddy bear. And even though I wouldn’t knit most of the designs in the book there are several I would and the others I will definatly draw insperation from.

Along with the patterns there are interviews with each designer which are an interesting read. But I won’t say much about those other then BUY THIS BOOK AND READ THEM seriously, if your at all interested in knitted art stuff or design in general I think it is a good source of ideas.

As for the to-knit list there are two imminent ones: Bridie and the Convertable Cardigan by Anna Bell and Wenlan Chin respectivly. Bridie is my favorite and I am on the look out for yarn, though I need to clear out at least one of the current sweaters first. I’m thinking of using some stash cascade pima tencel for the Convertable Cardi, but I cant decide if the bulk of it (I would have to double it) will make it really saggy. The original yarn has 30% cotton in it, but also 70% silk. I think I might start a sleeve and then hang it on a cork board and see how gravity takes its toll.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi,
Thanks for such kind words about my book KnitKnit! Bridie is a great, great piece and you should definitely make it. Do send me pix of the sweater when you finish it! Another pattern I think is really great, though a bit more on the high fashion side, is Risto Bimbiloski’s Paris Jacket. People stop me on the street when I wear it. You can see more pictures of it here: http://flickr.com/photos/8345047@N07/1484705912/in/set-72157602259441406/
Cheers,
Sabrina G.

Comment by Sabrina




Leave a comment